TBS ready to take over games

The big cable companies are interested in games. It was bound to happen some time. I’m sure they’re sick of not reaching the 14-25 male demographic with their ads, and there’s no reason they can’t compete.

I find this to be a pretty scary propostion. Besides the fact that these guys have massive amounts of capital, they know networks better then anyone. If there’s anyone that could just gobble up the game industry, it’s these cable networks.

I also worry about these game services. While they ease access to PC games, I didn’t ready anything about developers getting paid royalties when their games were played. With a service like Gametap, games aren’t purchased, they are rented. Like Gamefly, this is extremely tough on developers.

We’ll see how it looks on October 3rd when it’s released. I’m not sure if I’m hoping it’s better or worse then Steam

Leave a comment